collapse

Echoes

• Road Captain
  • Liked: 1266

http://nos.nl/video/616900-broers-vanmarcke-vormen-uniek-stel.html

Vanmarcke Brothers : A Unique Pair

Sep : When I was a novice he had already stopped racing for a few years. His conditions had really dropped a lot. One day he rode 40km with me. That’s how we started. Then he was just dog-tired (laugh). From then on we just trained together and he resumed racing. It was in 2004 I think. Now we are in 2014 and we still train together.

Ken : I also had the dream to become one day a pro rider but I apparently had my limits. I accepted that. But it’s always fun to still be connected with that dream. Surely with Sep who is my best mate. Therefore you are going through fire and water. When I eventually stopped racing I had the feeling that I still wanted to train with him and to support him in the build up of his career. I still enjoy it a lot otherwise he wouldn’t do it.

Sep : It’s an enormous added values for me. He’s a sparring partner. Just like tennis players who need someone on the other side of the net. I have him next to me when we ‘blokken doen’ [can’t translate], sprint uphill, then he is an opponent whereby I can push my limits

He comes everyday but when he once on holiday is then I reduce my trainings to the minimum.

Ken : I’m a postman in Anzegem. So far it’s still combinable with trainings with Sep.

Sep : During his days off, we can train in the morning, or the whole day through. In his working days, then he first go to work and meanwhile I’m doing my floor exercices. In the afternoon or at around noon we can go.