Slow Rider

  • Classics Winner
  • Country: nl
  • Posts: 2609
  • Liked: 2509
Cobbled Classics 2019
« on: May 02, 2014, 10:55 »
Trying to get excited for the rest of the season, but with the disappointment of the Ardennes and the dullness of Romandie and Turkey I mostly just miss the cobbles. So instead of focusing on the rest of this season, let's look forward to future cobbled classics.

There is a clear changing of the guard going on right now. Some of the old guys already retired: Flecha, Hincapie, Hoste. Others really should retire sooner rather than later: Hushovd, Ballan, Leukemans to some extent. And some are still going strong but are losing their dominance: Boonen, Cancellara. And at the same time, some younger riders are quickly gaining the strength and experience to compete in these most beautiful races of the year.

So let's look five years into the future. By then Cancellara and Boonen will be 38 and likely retired. Who will have taken their place as the dominant riders? Vanmarcke looks a strong bet, but how will Sagan continue to develop? Can Degenkolb learn to survive the hills better and compete in the Ronde as well as in Roubaix? What will happen to Kristoff? Will a sprinter like Cavendish or Kittel make the switch to the classics? Can Van Avermaet continue to develop or has he peaked this year? How long can Terpstra continue to be a force? And which younger riders that we don't know yet will gain prominence?

In other words, who will win the Ronde van Vlaanderen and Paris-Roubaix in 2019? We'll assume the Ronde parcours will remain largely the same as it is now, for argument's sake. So let's hear all your predictions, and who knows, maybe by that time we'll be able to revisit them ;)

Ronde van Vlaanderen 2019
1.Zdenek Stybar *cz
2.Alexander Kristoff *no
3.Peter Sagan *sk
4.Sebastiaan Langeveld *nl
5.Sep Vanmarcke *be

Top favourite and defending champion Vanmarcke has trouble defending his position. With 50 km to go, a group that includes Stybar, Langeveld, Roelandts and Gallopin attacks and gets a gap. Behind them, the peloton looks at eachother until finally the teams of Sagan and Vanmarcke take up the gauntlet and start working. They bring down the gap, until in the final lap on the Kwaremont Vanmarcke goes all out in the attack. He drops everyone but Stybar and Van Avermaet. Meanwhile in front, Stybar and Langeveld have dropped their fellow breakaway companions. Stybar finally gets rid of Langeveld, who is soon caught by the chasers - now also joined by the returning Kristoff. Stybar stays out of the grasp of the sprinting chase group by mere seconds and wins his first monument, while Kristoff finishes second and Sagan rounds up the podium.

Paris-Roubaix 2019
1.John Degenkolb *de
2.Taylor Phinney *usa
3.Sep Vanmarcke *be
4.Niki Terpstra *nl
5.Jasper Stuyven *be

Phinney and Terpstra are the first of the big favourites to attack and join some earlier attackers. They have a minute when they hit the Carrefour, where Degenkolb and Vanmarcke swap attacks to shatter the peloton and reduce the gap. Defending champion Kristoff has a badly timed mechanical and is unable to follow. Degenkolb and Vanmarcke catch up with Phinney and Terpstra. The final attacks by Terpstra first and then Vanmarcke are unsuccessful, and Degenkolb comfortably outsprints Phinney to take his second Paris-Roubaix trophy. Jasper Stuyven just managed to stay out of the reach of a chasing group to finish fifth.

The stories are a bit random of course (boredom), but the point is more which riders will be amongst the favourites during that time. Any thoughts?
  • ReplyReply

  • mc_mountain

    • Road Captain
    • *
    • Country: 00
    • Posts: 1376
    • Liked: 921
    Re: Cobbled Classics 2019
    « Reply #1 on: May 02, 2014, 14:09 »
    Four years ago (almost to the day) I made speculative predictions of the top fives for the 2015 GTs


    1. Tony Martin
    2. Kevin Seeldraeyers
    3. Jurgen Van Den Broeck
    4. Jack Bobridge
    5. Bauke Mollema



    1. Robert Gesink
    2. Andy Schleck
    3. Alberto Contador
    4. Bradley Wiggins
    5. Vincenzo Nibali



    1. Alberto Contador
    2. Dan Martin
    3. Jakob Fulgslang
    4. Peter Kennaugh
    5. Alejandro Valverde

     :cool although tbh Kennaugh would surprise me now (he just cant TT)

    Froome had just come second to last in the 2010 Tour of Romandie Prologue, and DNS the next day, and Quintana was 4 months away from winning Avenir

    SR I like your sneaky predictions of the 2018 winners by referring to the defending champions.
  • ReplyReply
  • « Last Edit: May 05, 2014, 10:21 by mc_mountain »
    Youth CQ Game originator.


    • Road Captain
    • Country: be
    • Posts: 1498
    • Liked: 1740
    Re: Cobbled Classics 2019
    « Reply #2 on: April 11, 2019, 18:20 »
    Nice try, Slowy. You got Kristoff almost right.  ;)
  • ReplyReply
  • "Paris-Roubaix is the biggest cycling race in the world, bigger than the Tour de France, bigger than any other bike race" (Sir Bradley Wiggins)


    Back to top