• Is on Dr Search's Green and Grey Diet
  • Grand Tour Winner
  • *
  • Country: be
  • Posts: 9588
  • Liked: 6803
  • @DopeologyDotOrg @L_arriviste
  • Awards: Post of the year 2015Best Opening Post 2012
[Bpost Bank Trofee] Koppenbergcross 2014
« on: November 01, 2014, 15:15 »
Until the final lap, the 2014 edition of the Koppenbergcross looked like being notable only for its dullness. Good weather certainly contributed, since this famous course did not exact its usual tribute from the riders.

The first half of the race featured a weighty group with all the contenders but Van der Haar and last year's winner Meeusen paid for their early efforts to break up the race with Van der Haar also crashing late in the hour.

Even after a solo charge from Pauwels had been neutralised by the hithero muted Nys, a predictable Sunweb Sandwich seemed to be on the cards with Vantornout shadowing the chase.

Soon after the catch however, Van Aert tried to get rid of his distinguished company. The Kempeneer, a youngster in his first senior season, succeeded in shaking off all but wily old Nys, who now showed himself not to be having such a bad day after all.

The last dash from this duo ended with a triumph of youth over experience, although the sprint was not without a little controversy: in the last corner, Van Aert's lapped teammate seemed to hinder Nys in his attempt to come around the youngster, who won comfortably with several lengths in hand, preventing the Belgian Champion from winning his tenth Koppenbergcross title.

Nys now leads the BPost Bank Trofee series after two rounds.

1. Wout VAN AERT (Vastgoed Service - Goldenpalace)
2. Sven NYS (Crelan - AA Drink)
3. Kevin PAUWELS (Sunweb - Napoleon Games)
4. Klaas VANTORNOUT (Sunweb - Napoleon Games)
5. Tom MEEUSEN (Telenet-Fidea)

Complete race video

  • ReplyReply
  • « Last Edit: November 03, 2014, 09:13 by L'arri »
    Cycling is a Europe thing only and I only watch from Omloop on cause I am cool and sh*t
    RIP Craig1985 / Craig Walsh
    RIP KeithJamesMc / Keith McMahon / Larry Sarni

    Slow Rider

    • Classics Winner
    • Country: nl
    • Posts: 3232
    • Liked: 2530
    Re: Koppenbergcross 2014
    « Reply #1 on: November 01, 2014, 19:39 »
    Good to see the young guys really break through this season. Lars was already there last year, this year Van der Poel make the step and now Van Aerts is there too. It was a really impressive race by the young Belgian: he never hid behind his lack of experience but took charge of the race. In that sense, it is too bad the final sprint was marred by such a stupid move, because Van Aerts would have won anyway.

    Not the best of races until the last lap, but a very deserved win by an extremely talented rider. The youth are really stepping up this year. And just in time, because with Albert retired the sport needed someone to challenge Nys.
  • ReplyReply


    Recent Posts

    Re: Roadbooks by search
    [August 16, 2022, 17:22]

    Re: Roadbooks by le gac
    [August 16, 2022, 05:24]

    Re: Vuelta a Espana 2022 - General Discussion by Leadbelly
    [August 15, 2022, 19:04]

    Re: Vuelta a Espana 2022 - General Discussion by Leadbelly
    [August 15, 2022, 18:53]

    Re: Circuit franco-belge by LukasCPH
    [August 15, 2022, 10:48]

    Re: Vuelta a Espana 2022 - General Discussion by search
    [August 15, 2022, 09:29]

    Recent Topics

    Back to top