collapse

stereojet

• 2nd Year Pro
  • Liked: 298
  • I'm still learning the ropes
Matt Rendell, The Death of Marco Pantani
« on: July 08, 2015, 09:18 »
Well, since there's a new edition of this classic coming out, I thought I'd pop down my tuppence worth.

This is the best sports biography I've ever read.

That's all you need to know about it. It is definitely the best cycling biography and probably the best book about professional cycling ever as well.

OK, so why's that the case?

Firstly, as many readers know, Rendell was an academic before becoming a full-time writer. Rather than merely scanning old copies of cycling magazines and talking to a few friends/teammates/relatives of Pantani, he's delved really deeply into the archives, talked to just about everybody he could about Pantani and made extensive use of both medical and police files. Popular sporting biographies rarely go into this much depth, and TDOMP shows up the other cycling biographies for the hack jobs that most of them are.

Obviously, he's helped by having such a compelling central character. Where biographies of Merckx struggle with the fact that, at heart, he's merely a cyclist, Rendell has a figure who seems to embody Italian cycling, who has the hopes and ambitions of an entire nation resting on his shoulders, and whose decline and demise is tragic yet also sadly predictable. Pantani struggled throughout his life with the burden of the expectations of his family, coaches, teammates, sponsors, and ultimately his country. No wonder that he spiraled into depression and drug dependency. And no wonder that people still find him fascinating. He's a great subject for a biographer.