• World Champion
  • *
  • Country: de
  • Posts: 10400
  • Liked: 10619
  • Awards: Member of the year 2016Post of the year 2016KeithJamesMC 2016Member of the year 20152012 CQ Ranking Tour GameAvatar of the Year 2013
[1.1] GP Miguel Induráin
« on: March 27, 2017, 11:10 »
XIX Gran Premio Miguel Induráin

April 1st

The Gran Premio Miguel Induráin was first run in 1951 under the name of Campeonato Vasco-Navarro de Montaña and carried various different names (GP Ribera, GP Navarra; Trofeo Jesús Galdeano…) before being re-named to GP Indurain in 1999. In recent years the one-day race has become the opener of a week of cycling in the Basque Country, preceding the Vuelta al País Vasco and the Vuelta Ciclista a La Rioja on the following Sunday.

It has had a host of top name winners including Alex Zülle, Miguel Indurain, Pedro Delgado, Samuel Sanchez and Joaquim Rodriguez. In 2016 it won by Ion Izagirre, and currently it is classified as a 1.1 race in the UCI calendar.

YEAR 1st 2nd 3rd
2016      *es   IZAGIRRE      *es   HENAO      *it   MOSER
2015      *es   VICIOSO      *es   IZAGIRRE      *es   INTXAUSTI
2014      *es   VALVERDE      *nl   SLAGTER      *ru   CHERNETSKIY
2013      *si   SPILAK      *es   ANTON      *usa   STETINA
2012      *es   MORENO      *es   LANDA      *es   MADRAZO

The race in 2014 initially was to be folded after the regional government of Navarra failed to provide GP Miguel Indurain with sufficient financial support, but a private company stepped in to ensure a continuity of the event, and they still do.

The GP Miguel Indurain is a race with a hilly route without a single meter of flat, and thereby is the toughest one day race on the Spanish cycling calendar. The course stayed approximately the same as in recent years.

The start list still lacks a bit of depth, but with five WT teams, Caja Rural, Cycling Academy, all those Portuguese guys, Rebellin and his boys from Kuwait, and Inteja, there should be enough fire power for an exciting race
  • #movistar Movistar Team
  • #sky Team Sky
  • #cannondale Cannondale-Drapac
  • #orica Orica-Scott
  • #katusha Team Katusha Alpecin
  • #cajarural Caja Rural - Seguros RGA
  • #academy Isreal Cycling Academy
  • #burgos Burgos BH
  • #teames Seleccion Española
  • #euskadi Euskadi Basque Country Murias
  • #w52 W52 FC Porto
  • #sporting Sporting Taviria
  • #boavista Radio Popular Boavista
  • #inteja Inteja Dominican Cycling Team
  • #bolivia Equipo Bolivia
  • #kuwait
  • #rietumu Rietumu Banka - Riga

Live coverage is scheduled to be on EiTB 1 from 15:00 cest to 17:45. Last year it was also on Eurosport, but I haven't seen anything definite yet
  • ReplyReply
  • "If this is cycling, I am a banana"


    Back to top