• Multiple World Champion
  • *
  • Country: de
  • Posts: 15994
  • Liked: 7968
  • Awards: Staff of the year 2016Staff of the year 2015Velorooms Tour de France BINGO champion 2014National Championships Predictions Game Winner 2014Velorooms Monday Quiz ChampionPoster of the Year 2013
Re: Flanders 2021 World Road Cycling Championships
« on: September 17, 2021, 17:16 »
So @LukasCPH, bring us the *dk selection, please?
Here we go, then ...

*dk Women Juniors:
Laura Auerbach-Lind (Give Cykelklub) (ITT + RR)
Victoria Lund (Team RYTGER powered by Cykeltø (ITT + RR)
Solbjørk Minke Anderson (Team RYTGER powered by Cykeltø
Ida Mechlenborg Krum (Give Cykelklub)

Auerbach-Lind is the Danish ITT champion, other than that I can't tell you much. IMK and SMA are first-year juniors (on paper, both participated in junior races last year already when they were U17).

*dk Men Juniors:
Carl-Frederik Bévort (Team ABC Junior) (ITT + RR)
Gustav Wang (Team ABC Junior) (ITT + RR)
Poul Holten Andersen (Team ABC Junior)
Simon Dalby (Mascot Workwear)
Henrik Pedersen (Team NPV Carl Ras Roskilde Junior)

Bévort has won the Danish TTT, ITT, and RR championships as well as half of the other races he's entered - but hasn't raced outside Denmark so far this year. The others have, but not exactly with loads of success. Best results came from Dalby who won the *no Tour te Fjells and was 10th in *be Aubel-Stavelot.

*dk Men U23:
#unox Jacob Hindsgaul
#bornholm Marcus Sander Hansen (ITT + RR)
#coloquick Sebastian Kolze Changizi
#coloquick William Blume Levy
#suri Mathias Larsen
#unox Johan Price-Pejtersen (only ITT)
#bornholm Adam Holm Jørgensen (only ITT)

Price-Pejtersen is the newly-crowned U23 ITT #champeu and one of the top favourites for the pan-flat ITT. The other two Danish ITT starters are first-year U23 Adam Holm and his Bornholm teammate Marcus Sander who will move to the #unox set-up for 2022 and go pro in 2023 at the latest (but if you look at the Halland Johannesens or Charmig, probably rip up the scene next year already).
Sander is also one of five starters for the road race, together with Mathias Larsen (at #kometa in 2020, now at the Conti team of Mads P and winner of Himmerland Rundt), Hindsgaul (a.o. 8th in l'Avenir), Levy (another rider who'll go to #unox next year, won the Randers Bike Week overall), and Kolze Changizi. They should play a decent role in the race.

*dk Women Elite:
#fdj Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig
#ceratizit Julie Leth (TTT + RR)
#mov Emma Norsgaard (ITT + TTT + RR)
#tfs Amalie Dideriksen (TTT + RR)
Marita Jensen (Team ABC Dame Elite)
Rebecca Koerner (Team ABC Dame Elite) (ITT + RR)
Trine Holmsgaard (Isorex No-Aqua Ladies)

The four pros need no introduction. Norsgaard has developed into one of the top sprinters and can get over some hills - this course should be very good for her. If the race gets too hard for her, Uttrup Ludwig is there to take over, but she doesn't have the same sprint. Dideriksen already won a #rainbow once, on a sprinters' route in Qatar, and Leth will be an excellent capitaine de route. Jensen, Koerner, and Holmsgaard finished 4th, 5th, and 8th in this year's Danish RR champs, and Koerner (who won the Randers Bike Week overall) will turn pro with #uxt next year.

*dk Men Elite:
#deceuninck Kasper Asgreen (ITT + RR)
#ef Magnus Cort (TTT + RR)
#deceuninck Mikkel Honoré
#ef Michael Valgren
#trek Mads Pedersen
#soudal Andreas Kron
#israel Mads Würtz Schmidt
#uae Mikkel Bjerg (ITT + TTT + RR)

This is the big one. Valgren has won two races in a row this week, he's in the form of his life. Asgreen won two Flemish races in the spring. Cort won two stages of the Vuelta. Mads P knows how to take the #rainbow. Honoré has made a big step up this year, as has Kron. Würtz is the national champion, and Bjerg is a massive motor.

They have only one target: To win. And it's not an exaggeration that each and every one of the eight riders could win. They don't have the one massive favourite like France (Alaphilippe), Belgium (Van Aert) or the Netherlands (Van der Poel), but they have eight riders who are just below that level. The mission must and will be: Attack, attack, attack. Have someone in every group that goes and play the cards right. Yorkshire 2019 was a deserved victory, but a surprising one.
If they win this time, it will simply be mission accomplished. :yuush

Last, but not least, the team for the Mixed Relax TTT:
#uae Mikkel Bjerg
#ef Magnus Cort
#movistar Mathias Norsgaard
#tfs Amalie Dideriksen
#ceratizit Julie Leth
#mov Emma Norsgaard

This one's a family affair, with siblings Emma and Mathias plus Emma's fiancé Mikkel Bjerg making up half of the team. :)
  • ReplyReply
  • Cyclingnews Women's WorldTour Correspondent
    2017 0711|CYCLING PR Manager; 2016 Stölting Content Editor
    Views presented are my own. RIP Keith & Sean


    Race Calendar

    Sorry! There are no calendar events available at the moment.

    Back to top