Who will win PR ?

Greg van Avermaet
1 (3.6%)
Peter Sagan
2 (7.1%)
Phillipe Gilbert
5 (17.9%)
Nikki Terpstra
1 (3.6%)
Zdenek Stybar
11 (39.3%)
Sep van Marcke
0 (0%)
Jasper Stuyven
0 (0%)
John Degenkolb
1 (3.6%)
Alexander Kristoff
1 (3.6%)
Luke Rowe
0 (0%)
Wout van Aert
1 (3.6%)
Oliver Naeson
1 (3.6%)
Arnead Demare
1 (3.6%)
3 (10.7%)

Total Members Voted: 28

Voting closed: April 08, 2018, 11:54


  • Classics Winner
  • Country: no
  • Posts: 2580
  • Liked: 4016
Re: 2018 Paris Roubaix
« Reply #30 on: April 08, 2018, 21:20 »
Time for a wrap-up post:
First the official results:

Just updated my statistics with the results of those we thought were the favorites + this year's top 10 performers not mentioned. The general conclusion is still valid. To win the P-R you need to qualify in the P-R.
  • at least a handful of P-R starts before winning (This was Sagan's 6th attempt).
  • at least one  previous top 10.

Applying these rules, riders that made top 10 for the first time this year are added to the list of potential winners for 2019 and on. This includes:
  • #ag2r Silvan Dillier
  • #katusha Nils Politt
  • #ef Taylor Phinney

Others notably on the way up, but not ready for first place yet (get that top-10 first):
  • #sunweb Mike Theunissen
  • #quickstep Philippe Gilbert
  • #verandas  Wout van Aert
  • #ag2r Oliver Naesen
  • #lotto Jelle Wallays
  • #jumbo Amund Grøndal Jansen

I think most of the big disappointments disappointed due to falling, except maybe Arnaud Demare who seemed to be out of shape. Aleksander Kristoff also looked like Demare in the early cobbled sectors and explained in post-race interviews that the mud on the first sector was sticking to his frame, rubbing on his tires and eventually caused his back tire to explode. Maybe Demare had similar issues.

And then #sky Gianni Moscon... lost his mojo or what?
  • ReplyReply


    Back to top