Who will win PR ?

Greg van Avermaet
1 (3.6%)
Peter Sagan
2 (7.1%)
Phillipe Gilbert
5 (17.9%)
Nikki Terpstra
1 (3.6%)
Zdenek Stybar
11 (39.3%)
Sep van Marcke
0 (0%)
Jasper Stuyven
0 (0%)
John Degenkolb
1 (3.6%)
Alexander Kristoff
1 (3.6%)
Luke Rowe
0 (0%)
Wout van Aert
1 (3.6%)
Oliver Naeson
1 (3.6%)
Arnead Demare
1 (3.6%)
3 (10.7%)

Total Members Voted: 28

Voting closed: April 08, 2018, 11:54


  • Classics Winner
  • Country: no
  • Posts: 2547
  • Liked: 3976
Re: 2018 Paris Roubaix
« Reply #60 on: April 11, 2018, 23:16 »
(...about Sagan...)
It is interesting that for all his talent in a sprint, his monument wins have both come by going solo.

"Sprint" always was a bit of a poor word to describe what happens in a finish of 7 hour long race. Road racing is primarily an endurance sport, and the best classics riders may be unmatched (on this planet) when it comes to stamina.
This stamina is their primary qualification, and if they can finish fast after enduring 7 hrs in the saddle, great! Then they're all of a sudden referred to as sprinters.
To add even more of a word-wise paradox, the longest race on the calendar is often referred to as the sprinter's monument.
Contrast this with real sprint races which include sub-minute effortrs...

Anyway...my point is ... when a "sprinter" wins a monument on a longer range attack, it's an endurance athlete using his or hers primary qualification: stamina, endurance, and winning from that rather than the secondary skill of finishing fast. If they don't have the endurance they will not be there when the sprint starts and it does not matter how fast they are over the final 300 m.

Aleksander Kristoff also won the Ronde van Vlaanderen on an attack (with Terpstra) rather than a sprint (if we agree sprinting against Terpstra doesn't count.)
  • ReplyReply


    Back to top