• World Champion
  • *
  • Country: de
  • Posts: 14558
  • Liked: 14181
  • Awards: Member of the year 2016Post of the year 2016KeithJamesMC 2016Member of the year 20152012 CQ Ranking Tour GameAvatar of the Year 2013
I'll be off to Sibiu on Tuesday, so with no final startlist for the Tour in sight, I'll slim down the usual minor-classification preview a bit, and focus more on the general rules (and changes of the rules) for the various classifications instead of listing a sh*t load of potential favourites:

#yellow Classement général individuel au temps

There are 10, 6 and 4 bonus seconds awarded for the Top 3 at the finish again, and for each stage of the race.

Additionally, for this edition, ASO has introduced a new "Bonus Points" system, handing out 8, 5 and 2 seconds for the three best placed riders on eight mountain- or hilltop sprints (marked with a yellow "B") during the race:

As you can see, apart from the final two, most of them come either relatively early or during potential breakaway stages, so the influence on the final GC should be relatively small.

#green Classement par points

The points classification was introduced in 1953 to celebrate the 50th birthday of the Tour de France, and after some changes over the years, since 2011 (with some minor adjustments in 2016) the points are distributed in the same way - and so they will be for this edition.

Points awarded at the finish (by stage category):

cat. 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
#flat Flat   50      30      20      18      16      14      12      10      8      7
#med Hilly   30      25      22      19      17      15      13      11      9      7
#mountain Mountain   20      17      15      13      11      10      9      8      7      6
#tt Time Trial   20      17      15      13      11      10      9      8      7      6
+ minor points for place 11-15

Points awarded at the intermediate sprint are the same on every type of stage (apart from time trials of course):


...with the stages being categorized in the following way:
  • #flat Flat Stages: 1, 4, 7, 11, 16, 17, 21
  • #med Hilly Stages: 3, 5, 8, 9, 10, 12
  • #mountain Mountain Stages: 6, 14, 15, 18, 19, 20
  • #tt Time Trial: 20
There are no points awarded for the Team Time Trial on day 2 of the race.

Apart from 2017 (when he was disqualified early on) #bora Peter Sagan was won the green jersey every time he participated in the race.

This year, several of the category 1 stages come with difficulties either throughout the stage or in the finale, which should favor him even more. Additionally there are a handful of catgeory 2 stages finishing after a little climb, also playing into his hands.

Interestingly, Stage 17 is a full points stage although it looks unlikely to end up in a big bunch sprint...

... but overall, this shouldn't change much about the fact, that this is the best parcours so far for Sagan to win the jersey.

#kom Classement du meilleur grimpeur

Same as for the points classification, the scoring system for the mountain classification has changed several times, and although the points are distributed in the same way as last year...

Type de côte 1er 2e 3e 4e 5e 6e 7e 8e 9e 10e
Hors catégorie 20 15 12 10 8 6 4 2
1re catégorie 10 8 6 4 2 1
2e catégorie 5 3 2 1
3e catégorie 2 1
4e catégorie 1

...there is a major change hidden in the regulations, as "Double points will be awarded at the top of passes or at the summit of climbs classified as super-category and above an altitude of 2,000 metres."

If my understanding of those rules is correct, this means that there will 40 points available on every HC climb (as all of them are >2000m), which will massively increase the importance of finishing high up the order on those climbs, and potentially almost nullify the influence of most others:

STAGE Pt. / Underway Pt. / at Finish
St. 1      Bruxelles > Brussel      2+1      
St. 2      Bruxelles Palais Royal > Brussel Atomium            
St. 3      Binche > Épernay      1+2+2+2      
St. 4      Reims > Nancy      1+1      
St. 5      Saint-Dié-des-Vosges > Colmar      2+5+5+2      
St. 6      Mulhouse > La Planche des Belles Filles      10+2+5+10+2+5      10
St. 7      Belfort > Chalon-sur-Saône      1+2+1      
St. 8      Mâcon > Saint-Étienne      5+5+5+2+5+5+2      
St. 9      Saint-Étienne > Brioude      10+2+2      
St. 10      Saint-Flour > Albi      1+2+2+2      
St. 11      Albi > Toulouse      2+1      
St. 12      Toulouse > Bagnères-de-Bigorre      1+10+10      
St. 13      Pau > Pau            
St. 14      Tarbes > Tourmalet Barèges      1+10      40
St. 15      Limoux > Foix Prat d'Albis      5+10+10      10
St. 16      Nîmes > Nîmes      1      
St. 17      Pont du Gard > Gap      1+2      
St. 18      Embrun > Valloire      2+10+40+40      
St. 19      Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne > Tignes      2+5+2+40      10
St. 20      Albertville > Val Thorens      10+5      40
St. 21      Rambouillet > Paris Champs-Élysées      1+1      
TOTAL            336      110

Both on stage 18 and 19 the final HC climbs come relatively close to the finish, and both of them have 8 bonus seconds on offer, so they could very well be contested by the overall contenders in the end, although listed as "points available underway".

Escapees still have a chance to win the jersey, but the double points may shift it more into the hands of the GC guys of course - especially as last year's winner #quickstep Julian Alaphilippe will surely be eager to defend his jersey (and score lots of points early on), but is not the best on high altitude HC climbs.

Furthermore, almost half of the points (216 of 446) are distributed during the final three mountain stages, which should make it a fascinating battle, as by then usually plenty of intial GC contenders have lost enough time to go on the attack already. Someone like #movistar Mikel Landa may spring to mind

#white Classement du meilleur jeune

The white jersey for the best young rider was first introduced in 1975 and in the same fashion as usual, it is awarded to the rider with the highest position in the general classification, not born before January 1st 1994.

This leaves us with #ineos Egan Bernal, #deceuninck Enric Mas, #groupama David Gaudu, #lotto Thiesj Benoot and #bora Maximilian Schachmann as the main contenders.
  • ReplyReply
  • "If this is cycling, I am a banana"


    Back to top